Praying God’s Word: Psalm 46

                                                                                          ... her journey with the Bible and 1st Doctrine of the Salvation Army

Sometimes it’s good for us to slow down a bit and really look at Scripture and what God is telling us through His words.

They can be life-giving, strengthening, encouraging, and when they need to be, convicting. Regardless, they are always true and they are always timely.

Today I am praying Psalm 46. In years past I have prayed and read the psalms many ways:

Over the course of a few weeks or a month, then going back to psalm one and beginning all over again,

Concentrating on the psalms of praise, or lament, or instruction, or prophecy, or comfort

Looking at no less than five psalms a day until the entire 150 were read

Some of my favorite translations to read the psalms from are the NIV, the New Living Translation, The Message, and God’s Word. Currently I am reading/praying them from the ESV (English Standard Version)

This time around I am being taken down a slower path; praying one or two, as the Spirit directs. Drinking in their richness; thinking on God more. Doing an exercise my grandchildren do in their homeschool lessons: Compare and contrast. Today it is psalm 46 that stops me for prayer.

If you’re not familiar with praying the Psalms this is a good one to look at. It’s simple, straightforward, descriptive, full and extremely relevant:

God is our refuge and strength,

a very present help in trouble.

therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way,

though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea,

though its waters roar and foam,

though the mountains tremble at its swelling. Selah

There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,

The holy habitation of the Most High.

God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved;

God will help her when morning dawns.

The nations rage, the kingdoms totter;

He utters his voice, the earth melts.

The LORD of hosts is with us;

The God of Jacob is our fortress.     Selah

Come, behold the works of the LORD,

How he has brought desolations on the earth.

He makes wars cease to the end of the earth;

He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;

He burns the chariots with fire.

“Be still, and know that I am God.

I will be exalted among the nations,

I will be exalted in the earth!”

The LORD of hosts is with us;

The God of Jacob is our fortress.        Selah

What words stop you? What did you make note of? For me it is:

  • Refuge, Strength, Present help in trouble (God is not just the God of my ancestors, but is with us today, right now).
  • I should not fear even though everything appears to be falling apart, is chaotic, out of control, even when I/we are dealing with things that seem as huge as mountains.
  • God is a peaceful water: in contrast to the turbulent season, foaming and wrenching
  • Nations rage, the earth reels, earthly kingdoms topple and fall, God’s voice can make all of these powers melt.
  • God is with us, He is our fortress.
  • If I open my eyes I can see the wonderful and powerful works of His hand, I can see how he has worked things out, or even brought destruction to those who thought they were all-powerful. I should pay more attention to how God is moving on the earth!
  • I should calm down and remember God is in control; Bigger than the calamities and happenings. God overrules the Prince of the Air!

As I made note of these facts/truths about God, the Holy Spirit brought many to mind. Those whom I regularly pray for. Those whom have just recently been brought to my attention.

  • Situations and people I have seen on the news, heard their tragic stories…
  • I thought of family members experiencing trouble in their homes or marriages…
  • Those who are sick; some even dying due to illness and disease…
  • Those who finances (or lack of) cause them to feel desperate…
  • Those who are having some really big troubles and making them panic…
  • Someone we know and care about who is currently incarcerated and on a downward spiral…
  • The level of violence in our world, and communities…
  • Families that are separated by no choice of their own…

If you look up the definition of mountain in a Webster's dictionary ...

On and on I made my list of prayer concerns for today, until I felt the Spirit close it out. These are the ones that will get prayer attention today.

You are sure to have your own list of concerns. Today I felt the need to compare and contrast: the situations against the bigness, faithfulness and power of God. Nothing is bigger than He!

Then I prayed:

Lord Jesus,

The very beginning of the psalm grips me: God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in times of trouble” and I am helped! My soul is quieted. The surging of my nerves are stilled. I am able to think on those situations that are too much, not just for me, but for so many others. The things that are nearly overwhelming. The sickness that need to be healed. The troubles that loom as mountains in the lives of people I know and people I care for deeply. The brokenness that permeates the four corners of this world, even my little world.

Thank you for the strong reminder that you are not only the God of my ancestors, but our God right now, today, as powerful today as you were then. Thank you for describing so clearly what you come and do in this earth. How you work out the situations. I don’t know anyone else that is able to make wars cease, or powerful people put down their scepters. I don’t know anyone else who can shatter the bows (weapons of mass destruction)—only You!

Today I apply these truths to the situations that have come to my attention…

I am calmed in my spirit, knowing you are in control. I am filled with a sense of peace, the desperation for others has been washed away by your words. Not even the darkest places can escape you. Not even the most violent situations will last forever. Not even the most negative soul can keep up their tirades. Not even the mountainous troubles can stand unmoved when you come.

I rise from my prayer time encouraged, filled anew with faith, refreshed by your promises. Assured that “Yes, you are our God, our fortress, our strength, our peace-giver, our mountain-mover and so much more…”

Selah: I will think on this all day! I will repeat these things over and over! I will remind others of who you are. Amen

This entry was posted in Praying God's Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Praying God’s Word: Psalm 46

  1. casbrooks@comcast.net says:

    Hi Cheryl, Very touching prayer. I felt like you and I and Others were speaking very sincerely directly to our Lord Jesus as He understood and listened to us. Much love to you and Yours, Ann

  2. Pingback: GOD IS OUR REFUGE | Prophetic Voice

Leave a comment