Prayer: Teach Me to Number My Days

Lord, you have been our dwelling place throughout all generations. Before the mountains were born or you brought forth the whole world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God…We are consumed by your anger and terrified by your indignation.  You have set our iniquities before you, our secret sins in the light of your presence.  All our days pass away under your wrath; we finish our years with a moan.Our days may come to seventy years, or eighty, if our strength endures; yet the best of them are but trouble and sorrow, for they quickly pass, and we fly away.
 If only we knew the power of your anger! Your wrath is as great as the fear that is your due.Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.—Psalm 90:1-2, 7-12

 

Lord Jesus, it’s such little life down here! We so quickly forget that it is not our final destination and start to strive for things that will have no real bearing or value in the end. We become distracted and worse yet, start to accumulate things that will one rust, rot and pass away!

Jesus, just as you came to the time where you spent your last week and day upon this earth may I also bear in mind that one day I will be spending the last week and the last day of my life on earth. What day I am on now in the span of time appointed for me I do not know. And since I do not know when that will be help me live in such a way now that when that time comes I will not be ashamed or filled with regret for having lived at all.

Keep me from willful sin and from having a disobedient heart and attitude toward you. By your grace, destroy the record of my sins from my youth and cancel them out by your blood. Keep me from thoughtless and silly pursuits. Because I am sinful and my flesh is weak, I depend on your promise to keep me, to keep me from falling away, and to present me as faultless when the final hour has come for me. Until that time teach me to treasure holiness and to reject the temptation of the devil. Teach me to number my days and preserve my soul for heaven!

Lord Jesus, forgive me for the sins I have committed and those I have been involved in, even up to this very moment. Forgive me for forgetfulness and being distracted. Forgive me for refusing to complete assignments and failing to do the things you have apportioned to me while I am passing through this life. Forgive me for doubt and insincerity and wasting precious hours on nothing of true worth. Thank you for your grace and mercies which are new to me each day. Teach me to number my days and preserve my soul for heaven!

As each day passes I will remember to say and know; “The LORD has done great things for me and I am glad! How excellent is Your loving kindness to me O God! Amen

 

 

images from : www.calalbercheenglish.blogspot.com,  www.wholesale.com , www.styledbykalack.blogspot.com

This entry was posted in Prayer for Today and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

