Prayer: On Obedience and Big Catches

And when he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Put out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch.” And Simon answered, “Master, we toiled all night and took nothing! But at your word I will let down the nets.”—Luke 5:4,5

Lord Jesus, I confess, I am not always open to Your counsel about the way I should lead my life or the paths I should take. Sometimes I think to myself; “But I’ve already tried that, Lord. Or, “I’ve already been down that road, or, “How much deeper can I get? Or, “I’m not really interested in that way Lord, do You have another?” Sometimes I’m more preoccupied with understanding why you tell me something, than I am being obedient to what you tell me! Lord, grant me a willing spirit to follow you to the end of my days and teach me what it means to be a true and willing disciple so I don’t just talk the talk, but walk the walk…

Lord, I confess I don’t always want to do as You want me to do or act as You desire me to act or go where you want me to go. Though I profess to be Your follower, I don’t always follow Your direction very well! When you ask me to cast my net where I have already been, help me to say “Yes, Lord I will cast it!” without reservation and instead of mumbling and grumbling. Grant me a willing spirit to follow you to the end of my days! Teach me what it means to be a true and willing disciple so I don’t just talk the talk, but walk-the-walk…

I trust you are standing on the shore of my life and seeing my situations and circumstances from a vantage point I don’t have. You know what is going to work out and what is not. You know what road I should be going down and the one(s) that have danger written all over them. You know what choices I am making that may be permissible but are far from beneficial. You know what people are good for me to become involved with and the relationships that will end in disaster. And even when I think something is the worst thing that could be; you know how You will use it for my good in the eventual. It’s important to me that I get to that place where I obey Your Word, heed Your voice, follow Your direction, and do that thing I really don’t understand; just because You say so.

It’s clear Lord, that big catches only come when I’m willingto rethink my own strategies and follow your commands so grant me a willing spirit and teach me what it means to be a true disciple so I don’t just talk the talk, but walk the walk. Amen

 

This entry was posted in Prayer for Today and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

