Prayer: Defying the Law of Gravity

He sent from on high, he took me; he drew me out of many waters. He rescued me from my strong enemy and from those who hated me, for they were too mighty for me—Psalm 18:16-17

The LORD upholds all who are falling and raises up all who are bowed down—Psalm 145:14

 

I was sinking deep in sin. Far from the peaceful shore,

Very deeply stained within, sinking to rise no more;

But the Master of the sea heard my despairing cry,

From the waters lifted me—now safe am I.

Love lifted me, love lifted me

When nothing else could help, loved lifted me.

Love lifted me, love lifted me,

When nothing else could help, love lifted me

 

Thank You Lord Jesus for singing over me! Thank You for coming to lift me up out of pits and murky waters when I could not lift myself! Thank you for defying both the laws of gravity and the law of sin and death and coming to my rescue. Thank You for Your wonderful, giving, gracious, everlasting and steadfast love that rescues me not just once, but again and again!

Although the law of nature pulls everything down. And Satan, hoping the law of death as a payment for sin is still in place, seeks to pull me down. To drag me down so far that You cannot see or save me. The forces of evil seek to pull me away from my Life-Source. Piling on burdens, shielding light, accusing me, tormenting me, tempting me…But what he [still] does not understand is that there is no valley so low or waters so deep my God cannot come and pull me out!

This year, Lord, I will do more than recognize my enemy’s M.O. I will defy the law of gravity in my spirit and my life.  I will not go gently or quietly into that dark night or pit of despair. I will not be easy prey for the enemy but I will kick and scream and pray and tread water until my God  comes to save me!

I will claim the higher law of love at work which lifts me up and strengthens me. The Holy Spirit will come and will give me a spirit of joy, and a peace-filled countenance, a loving heart and a hopeful outlook and the pull of gravity will not be able to overcome me. The law of gravity may be at work in this life and world but not in my soul or mind.

Thank You Jesus for reaching down and pulling me up out of pits and deep waters so many times I cannot count. You strengthen me and help me by binding up my enemies, rendering them helpless and easing my burdens. You uphold everyone who is falling and raise up everyone who is bowed down.

Today I give you everything that is taking me to spiritual depths and causing me to feel as though I am drowning in hopelessness and doubt…

May I be reminded today and everyday that nothing about Your promises or character are cliché. That everything about You is real and You love me perfectly and are faithful to the very end of the age, even into eternity. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Hymn, Love Lifted Me: James Rowe, 1865-1933, Howard E. smith 863-1918

images from: www.scenicrreflections.com,

This entry was posted in Prayer for Today and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

