Christmas Prayer: the Gift of New Beginnings and Fresh Starts

Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up: do you not perceive it?—Isaiah 43:18-19

 

Lord Jesus, as I sit at the edge of another year completed and look back over this past year there are a lot of things I am particularly grateful for. I can see Your handiwork in my and the lives of others so clearly. I know the things I accomplished did not come from my own power and  ingenuity but because You have helped me, You have worked and moved and rearranged and overcome. You have moved some mountains and given me the strength to [do] and the peace to be quiet when quiet was needed.

I also feel grateful for the opportunity for a new beginning. For some reason the change of the calendar year—as I toss the old calendar out and put a new one in its place—is going to be a welcomed task.

Throughout our lifetime You gift us with new seasons. You allow us to put the old behind and pick up the new. The act of forgiveness may not completely erase a past action but it allows us to start anew in grace. The setting of the sun and covering of night allows us to put the day behind us and awake renewed and refreshed; ready to begin again. Childhood and youth pass and with adulthood comes opportunities to heal from childhood pain or youthful mistakes. As our senior years enter in we can live with wisdom and balance that we may not have had prior.

Thank You Lord for Your perfect insight. For providing and making a way for every need we would have in this life, including starting over from time to time. Thank You for the years of jubilee: physically, financially, chronologically, spiritually, and relationally. Thank You for Your mercies which are new each and every day (Lam. 3:22). Thank you for making a way in the desert and putting streams in the wasteland (Isa. 43:20). You are good and good to us and worthy to be praised for the old and the new!

Lord, here are the things I would like to leave behind as this calendar year closes out…

I pray for a new mindset, a new attitude, a new focus, a new way strength and power for living this life in You. I pray that I can leave the past where it needs to be and I can move forward without looking back. I pray for a heart that can forgive others their mistakes and failures. I pray to be as gracious to others as You have been gracious to me: may my love be long and my memory short! Place a shield of protection around my mind and heart when the enemy comes to destroy the new work you are accomplishing in me and my life. I will not listen to him, but only to Your voice. Your Holy Spirit will lead me and guide me into all truth and into all things new. The old has gone the new has come!

I want to walk with Paul’s words in Philippians 3:12-15, today and in the coming year and make them my own;

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. [My] brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. All of us, then, who are mature should take such a view of things. And if on some point we think differently, that too God will make clear to us.

Christ, there are so many wonderful gifts of Christmas but I think the gift of a new beginning and fresh start tops the list! Amen.

 

Praying for Others

Jesus, I pray for                        today also. I pray he/she is able to put the past behind and move into a new time. I pray You will bless                  in new and wonderful ways. Give                  the will and desire to do a new thing in You, to put the past behind and to move into a new way of thinking and living. Remove any fears that                 may have and replace fear with courage and strength. I pray for his/her healing in every area of life so he/she can enjoy a blessed and bountiful future in You! In the places                 has been wounded this past year I pray You will renew and strengthen him/her. Thank You for Your faithfulness in              ‘s life and for the promise of going with him/her into this brand new year which is laid out before him/her…In Jesus’ name. Amen.

images from: www.lowmania.co.uk.com, www.flickr.com

This entry was posted in Prayers of Christmas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

