Praying Scripture: Psalm 54

O God, save me by your name, and vindicate me by your might. 2)O God, hear my prayer; and give ear to the words of my mouth. 3)For strangers have risen against me; ruthless men seek my life; they do not set God before themselves. Selah. 4)Behold, God is my helper; the LORD is the upholder of my life. 5)He will return the evil to my enemies; in your faithfulness put an end to them. 6)With a freewill offering I will sacrifice to you; I will give thanks to your name, O LORD, for it is good. 7)For he has delivered me from every trouble, and my eye has looked in triumph on my enemies.

This morning as I began my day in prayer Psalm 54 was the place I started. While I can always feel the psalmist’s distress in this prayer/psalm; O God, save me…vindicate me by your might (v1). Today my heart was stirred by verses 4 and 7;

“Behold, God is my helper; the LORD is the upholder of my life, and  

“For he has delivered me from every trouble”

As I sat with this psalm these words my eyes and heart stirred and gripped by this beautiful promise from God, our Heavenly Father.

At first, the visual that came to mind was of a floatation device on the sea. But then I realized a floatation device does not need anything to hold it up, it is already buoyant. No, then, my life would have to be like a rock or piece of lead or concrete that would go straight to the bottom if God’s hand were not holding me up.

                                    

Then I knew, that the only reason I am staying afloat in this life, the only reason I don’t sink underneath my problems, the only reason I don’t sink into the bowels of hell or don’t come under the enemy’s grated grasp, the only reason I am not being defeated by my enemies or succumb to total despair is because my God is holding me up! Then, I could see his hand underneath me on this choppy, stormy sea of life!

And verse 7; “For he has delivered me from every trouble… reminds me that God doesn’t just hold me up. He delivers me, not just from past troubles, but presently and even into my future; however that may be!

As I prayed for myself (because we should never neglect ourselves in prayer, especially when it comes to spiritual matters) I asked God to help me always remember this beautiful promise, that especially in time of trouble I will not forget or lose the sense of what He does and I was led to pray for others in this same manner!

What a gift to those who are the recipients of our prayers today; that they will know God is their helper, and he is also the upholder of their life and has, is, and will deliver them from every trouble.

My prayer was simple:

Lord Jesus, I pray for                                       today, that he/she will know You are his/her helper; that you are the upholder of his/her life and that you have, are and will deliver him/her from every [single] trouble they experience in this life.” Amen

The Holy Spirit led me to pray for some at length, (shown below) but for the most part I understood this was enough. That He would communicate this great promise to my family member, friend, or even those I have never met in the course of this day.

At the end of every prayer let us be confident enough to say Amen, Lord Jesus…

Lord Jesus, “May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you! May those who love your salvation say evermore, “God is great!” (Ps. 70:4)

 

Extended prayer

Lord Jesus, as I think about these words so many come to mind. There are my relatives whom I know firsthand need this strong and beautiful promise because of what they are facing. There are dear friends who are really going through it right now… there are those who are laying upon beds of affliction…there are those who are grieving a great loss in their life…there are the people I read about in my newspaper or hear their stories on the evening news…there are people I pass or greet each day or throughout the week that need a promise such as this; who could use such a good and timely word.

Jesus, I pray, hear my pray for each and every one! Since You are our Helper, then come Lord Jesus, come quickly to save us, come quickly to deliver us from these heavy situations! Come into desperate lives and troubled minds, come as soon as today Lord, as soon as right now!

Let each one be encouraged today to know that You are not only their Helper, but the Upholder of their life. In your special way communicate this promise to those in need. So as they travel through their day they have something solid to hold onto. Cause each one to look back over their life—short or long—and remember how You have helped them in the past, and indeed are helping them right now in whatever way…and know in their heart of hearts that You will always be with them to help them, no matter what the problem, no matter who the enemy is.

Jesus, hear my prayer for………………………………………..today. Thank you for this promise which not only is meant for me, but for everyone who will receive it. Lord Jesus,

“May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you! May those who love your salvation say evermore, “God is great!” (Ps. 70:4)

Images from: www.ladyofprayer.com, www.ct.gov.com, www.sodahead.com, www.god-gives-us-strength.blogs.com, www.kitakazebudo.blogspot.com

 

 

This entry was posted in Praying God's Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Praying Scripture: Psalm 54

  1. casbrooks@comcast.net says:

    Yes, I too am thankful for the Lord Jesus who, indeed, holds up me and others on this choppy, stormy sea of life…..

  2. Webb, Marsha says:

    Thank you Cheryl for this wonderful prayer. I had another opportunity to witness God’s omnipresence, His love, His Grace and mercy. On Sunday I awoke with terrible back spasms and found it difficult to stand up straight. All I could think of was the multitude things I needed to do at church in addition to serving as Assisting Minister. I got back in bed and started to pray asking God to please ease the pain in my back so I could complete all of the tasks I had set for myself. During the course of my prayers I could physically feel the pain and spasm leave my back and I was able to get out of bed stand perfectly straight and get ready for church and fulfill all of my obligations for that day. We serve an awesome God, and I am still amazed that he hears me and responds to my wants and needs which in the grand scheme of things minor compared to the serious illnesses of others. However I thank and praise His Holy Name nonetheless because I am truly grateful.
    I’m still having some issues with my back, but I also know God knows my trials and tribulations. The hey haven’t been as severe as what I experienced on Sunday and they haven’t kept me from driving to and from work, so there’s still hope. Maybe I should alter my prayer and ask if it’s His will to remove the pains/spasm permanently.
    Either way I know He’s close and He hears me so I can definitely take comfort in that.
    Looking forward to our January session.
    Marsha

Leave a Reply

